MCG – FAQ’s

MCG - FAQ's

1ALL PURPOSE FLOUR:
All purpose flour is obtained from wheat by grinding the endosperm of the wheat kernel. It is a Halal ingredient..
2ARE ALL APPLE JUICE BRANDS HALAL:
No, only those apple juice brands which bear a Kosher symbol on the containers are considered Halal because it indicates no pork gelatin. There are some apple juice manufacturers who still used pork or beef gelatin in apple juice processing.
3ARE ALL NATURAL OR ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS HALAL:
No, in order for a natural or artificial flavor to be Halal, it has to be made from Halal flavoring material and a Halal solvent such as vegetable oil or propylene glycol. If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent then MCG will not consider it as Halal according to the MCG Islamic Scholars. If a Kosher symbol (which meets the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing natural or artificial flavor, this indicates that it is manufactured from Halal flavoring material but ethyl alcohol may or may not be used as a solvent. It requires further investigation from food manufacturer to confirm that no alcohol is used as a solvent. Only food manufacturers know whether alcohol is used as a solvent or not in natural or artificial flavors.
4ARE ALL NATURAL JUICES HALAL:
No, only those which are 100% juice with chemicals. All natural fruit juices made with natural or artificial flavor are not Halal because ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavor.
5BEER BATTERED FISH:
Many food companies and restaurants manufacture or serve beer battered fried fish or potatoes products in USA, Canada and Europe. They use same fryers and same vegetable oil to fry both beer battered fish or potatoes and non beer battered fish or potatoes products. In seafood restaurants if you see beer battered under menu then please do not order any fried fish such as Red Lobster and other sea food restaurants. Similarly frozen fried fish and frozen fried potato brands such as Gorton, Van De Kemps, McCain, Or-Ida make frozen beer battered fried fish and fried potato. So non beer battered frozen are contaminated with beer because beer cannot be removed from frying vegetable oil. The oil is recycled to remove only large and small particles of products left over in the oil. So all their non beer battered fried are contaminated with beer in the batter. The grilled or broiled frozen fish or potato products are not contaminated with beer. But make sure those products are Halal. A list of Halal frozen broiled or grilled frozen fish and potatoes are listed on our website.